Overcoming Chaos

Think about chaos for a minute. What comes to mind for you?

Many thoughts and memories fill my mind when thinking of chaos. The most prevalent for me however, evolves around the idea of Children. Parents have a deeper understanding of this then I do. I on the other hand have had the opportunity to learn much from my nieces and nephew. They are wonderful children, but as far as chaos is concerned I can fill a couple of books with information!

My prime example is demonstrated through trying to discipline children that are not you own. Anyone who has been in this situation knows you have to balance between giving disciple, and not upsetting the parents in the process. This has never been more relevant than with my oldest niece. First I will say she is quite adorable and fun to spend time with. The times she decides to go into her own world when she no longer wants to listen, happens more often than I would like.

One particular instance remains burned in my head, because of how funny and frustrating she made me in this particular moment. To set the stage, the kids wanted to go to the park nearby, because of how beautiful it was outside. Like any other day getting the kids ready to go somewhere, was much like pulling hair out of my head. My nephew was ready to go, but my niece could not find the shoes she wanted for the park.

I asked if she “left them in her room?”. Without hesitation she took off in a sprint, as if she were looking for a lost relic. While she was away, I helped the nephew gather things he wanted to play with (Mostly my Frisbees). Minutes pass, while we wait for the older sister to return from whatever adventure she had made for herself. After about Twenty minutes pass, I decide to go up and check on her.

To my not unexpected surprise, instead of looking for her shoes, she has equipped herself in one of her favorite blue colored dresses. Walking slowly from one side of the room to the next, ignoring my presence at her doorway all together. After asking her “What are you doing?!?”, she turns slowly, as if I am suppose to appreciate the elegance of her dress. She then replies saying, “Oh, I didn’t know the kingdom would allow you into the castle”.

To most, this would cause a world full of panic trying to understand why such a statement  would be made. Her mother, father and I understand that she has placed herself in the majestic world of the movie “Frozen”, and she is in fact Elsa! In these moments her mother would take a more direct approach. Her dad more of a passive understanding approach (That’s Daddy’s little girl after all). I on the other hand use my wealth of royal knowledge against her. Hammering much history of royalty into the ground, until her enchantment decides to waste away.

After acknowledging she is in fact a princess, I then attempt to see how much she understands her responsibilities to the kingdom. I lead with the idea of royal courtship. More directly reminding her, she will have no choice to what prince she is to marry. That typically breaks the spell immediately, because she doesn’t like the idea of her parents choosing her future husband. This day however, she exclaims “She will do what is necessary for the needs of her Kingdom” (so noble).

Instead of becoming frustrated with her response, I then ask if “she would like to meet with her people?”. Without a moments hesitation she exclaimed “I would love nothing more!”. I then inform her, she would have to change into clothes that are more fitting for common locations. Out of the nines years I have known my niece, I have never seen her get ready so fast until this moment. Not only did both kids enjoy the park. The spell that captured my niece, ended the instant we got out of the car.

I have plenty of stories on my nephew as well, but I believe the story above demonstrates perfectly the idea of chaos. Instead of just telling a story, I want to give something more tangible that can be used in any relationship you have. Before I tell you that, I do believe there are situations beyond my understanding, and can’t just be answered away.

I also believe that most things in life, regardless of how chaotic they are, have another side or reason behind why they are happening. Even in the midst of whatever maybe happening,  we must understand there is a bigger picture/reason behind whatever is currently occurring. Going back to the example with my niece, she openly chooses to go into her own world, because it’s so much more enjoyable. She relishes in her imagination! Knowing this, I try to reach her where she is mentally in order to get anything accomplished!

Similarly being slow to many bigger situations may reveal much need information to either understanding, or preventing complication with whatever can happen in the future. To be clear, that does not mean it will be solved! It just means that we don’t have to exist in a world of stagnation. Once we can break the complications of the situation, I believe only then we can continue to live!

I hope you enjoyed reading this as much I did writing this. As always I would love to hear what you have to say, even if you don’t agree with it.

This post was inspired by the WordPress daily Prompt of Chaos.

Link: https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/chaos/

 

 

Leave a Reply

